Thursday, 20 January 2011

Ohhh thats what that is!!!

Ok so i tried taking that line-y footage into matchmover knowing that there would be a problem. and surprise surprise there was. out of the thousands of auto tracks i applied to the image (with a minimum track length of only 25) only 10 or so stuck. and they were baaaaaad.



I then tried manually tracking one point and after 15 minutes I had half a track line that looked like crap. The problem was that I couldnt even see properly where to place the track points, the footage was that bad. (see photo below)




Enough was enough, I typed in the camera name and details of the fault, and spent a long while trying to find anything about this problem. That is until i found out it wasnt even a problem.....

It turns out what we shot in was 1080i, not 1080p. I was a bit unsure what the differense is between progressive and interlaced, but now I'm sure. Apparently Adobe Premier and after effects are set up to de-interlace footage, so I will research a little more and do two posts, one about i & p, one about how to convert 1 to the other.

No comments:

Post a Comment